Snow

“I’ll sweep you off your feet and you will fall apart,” murmurs Julia “Sweep you off the floor, oh God, you’re drunk again,” counters Angus.

This week my favourite band, Aussie brother sister duo Angus and Julia Stone released their new album ‘Snow’. The album is a beautiful mix of dreamy indie melodies and soft acoustic rock tones.

I’ve had their album on repeat all week at work. It’s helped me keep sane and grounded during some of my toughest days overseas to date.

To make things even better… they’re coming to London in November and playing at the O2 Academy in Brixton – not far from my flat! So I may or may not have just bought a ticket and currently FIZZING with excitement.

What is peculiar is that my new year’s resolution this year was “to see snow” and although it may not be in the form I first expected….maybe this is it?! Ever feel like you are exactly where you are supposed to be at a particular point in time?

This year has been full of ups and downs and this will be the first concert I have ever attended alone. In a way I feel like this experience will be quite cathartic for me – a time for reflection. I can relate to a lot of the Stone’s songs and they’re presented in such a raw, magical way it’s hard not to involve yourself in their melodies. That might be the hippiest thing that has ever come out of my mouth but I couldn’t be more damn excited.

Over the past few weeks, the mornings have become foggier, my coat is being brought out of the closet more often than not – Winter is definitely coming! Being away over the great Kiwi summer will be hard but I’m also looking forward to having my very first winter birthday and Christmas because I’ve never had either before so that will be a whole new experience.  I also can’t wait to see Winter Wonderland come alive in Hyde Park this year – complete with mulled wine, German bratwurst, fairy lights and magic!

And now for your monthly Streatham Hill update… I was recently yelled at by an elderly African lady with bleach blonde hair on my way to the train station…that was interesting. Then there’s the guy on his bike that was singing “Land Downunder” with a basket full of beanie babies attached to the front. There’s been multiple early morning screaming matches from the couple next door we share a lounge wall with…and Wig man has a new wig! I swear you can’t make this stuff up.

I’ve been making an effort to spend more time in nature lately. I visited a farm out in East London in a place called Mudchute over the weekend and spent the day feeding the goats, sheep and pigs. The cows weren’t interested in the food I had to offer but they did want pats, to which I was happy to oblige. It was quite surreal being at a farm in the middle of London with a view of the Shard in the distance. It felt great to swap skyscrapers and crowds for nature, space and animals.

I ventured out to Crystal Palace on Sunday and walked around the park there, observing curious squirrels and strange statues of dinosaur interpretations from the 1800s. London is full of weird and wonderful surprises, sometimes it just takes a little digging to uncover it’s hidden gems.

This week I’ve learnt that it’s important to find joy in the little things and spend less time stressing over the things we have little control over.

J

dinosaur


Leave a comment